I’m healthy, I’m happy, I’m fertile!

I’ve always been a positive person (annoyingly so, if you ask my husband!) but for some reason, I’ve never been that positive about myself.  Even when I was a skinny, cute,  little thing, full of confidence, I never applied my positive attitude to my own life.  WELL, time to change that.  Time to start thinking and acting like someone who is healthy and happy.  Yes, I know I sound like a self-help book, The Secret was sooo last year (or maybe the year before?  I don’t remember, I never actually read the book or watched the movie :P)  BUT, if my positive outlook helps other people to feel better than why shouldn’t it help me feel better to?  At the sake of being teased relentlessly by my husband, I figure its worth a shot!  So my new mantra going forward is “I’m HEALTHY, I’m HAPPY, I’m FERTILE (very very very … very very VERY FERTILE… VERY)”.  I wonder if it would be too much to stick post-it notes all over the house to remind me of this?!

my laptop at work! Excuse the poor picture quality, I took it with my cellphone.

Sticking to the healthy theme, I thought I would share this great article on healthy snacks for kids.  Mums nowadays are so aware of the importance of keeping healthy snacks around the house for kids… a grumpy kid is often just a hungry kid and keeping their blood sugars level and balanced throughout the day can definitely help to keep them happy!!!  My daughter’s blood sugar levels can drop quite rapidly and the signs are pretty obvious, she becomes moody, tired, quick tempered and impatient.  A little snack clears this up right away.  We always keep child-sized yogurts, cut up celery and carrot sticks, grapes and hummous on the shelf in the fridge that she can reach, and have a basket of approved snacks, including raisins, granola, trail mix and wasa crackers in the pantry so she can help herself if she needs to.  And of course, there are always apples and bananas on the table!!! 

Snack time can be alot of fun and there are so many creative things you can do, from the classics like ‘ants on a log’ to exotic new fruits or veggie dips.  Its also a good time to get your kids to drink their water.  My daughter loves when I put frozen berries in her water to flavour it!  Although, I don’t believe in a sugar-free diet for most kids, I definitely believe that sugary foods and drinks have no place at snack time.  A healthy snack goes alot farther at providing kids with the sustainable energy they need to make it through the night, especially if that night includes physical activities like dance class, my case!  For more snack ideas, read the article from The Yummy Mummy Club’s Sally J. King, and enjoy 🙂 http://www.yummymummyclub.ca/healthy_snacks_on_the_run_sally_j_king?preview=&pageNum=1

Take care, ttfn 🙂

Leave a Reply

