Manic Monday

Today is Blue Monday, and man can I feel it.  Although, I don’t have the Christmas bills rolling in (I don’t put any Christmas shopping on credit… if the cash isn’t in my hand, it doesn’t get bought!), I am definitely feeling the effects of an extremely cold winter.  The last few weeks we have been getting tempertatures as low as -35°C and this isn’t even the coldest its been this winter.  Before Christmas Calgary and most of Alberta broke records reaching lows colder than -50°C.  Even for us Canuckers that is FREEZING!

Canadians have come up with all kinds of ways to get through the second half of a long winter season.  Alot of cities host winter festivals to celebrate the snow and cold, and embrace our arctic climate.  Personally, I love Winterlude in Ottawa with all of its ice sculptures, ice playgrounds, skating on the Rideau Canal, and of course, hot chocolate and beavertails (mmmm a light, crispy, friend dough, flattened into the shape of a beaver’s tail and then sprinkled with brown sugar, cinnamon and a drizzle of lemon juice!!!).  If you haven’t been, I highly recommend a visit this February, it will definitely remind you of why its great to live in our snowy white country!

So to beat the winter blues, and tackle an obstacle I am trying to overcome, all in one step, I’ve decided that every Monday I am going to post a super yummy, warm, comforting oatmeal recipe.  A hot bowl of oatmeal is definitely a Canadian staple for a winter breakfast, and something that I am supposed to be eating everyday.  But the same old crappy bowl of porridge gets pretty boring after the first week so why not make it more interesting.

Cinnamon, Pumpkin, and Blueberry Oatmeal
from Oprah
Servings: Serves 2

Ingredients:
* 1 cup steel-cut oats
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 stick cinnamon
* 1/4 cup preserved pumpkin or pumpkin pie filling
* 1/4 cup fresh blueberries

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, bring 4 cups water to a boil. Stir in oats, salt, and cinnamon stick. Reduce heat slightly and boil 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low and simmer 30 minutes; stir frequently until oatmeal thickens.

Stir pumpkin into oatmeal; divide between two warm bowls and top each with blueberries.

Doesn’t that sound like a great way to start a hectic Saturday?  If you are prone to skipping lunch or want to make this a more complete meal, you can always add a scoop of non-flavoured or vanilla protein powder!  I haven’t made this yet, so there is no picture, but I WILL make it and post the pic for sure!

Take care for now everyone, and stay warm!

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

