Weigh-In Wednesday

Well, well, look at me being all consistent and what-not.  A whole week of blogging on time, yay for me 🙂  So how has your food week been?  Mine has been pretty good, considering my parents are still visiting so our routine has been off.   They always say you should never try a recipe for the first time when you have company over but I took it upon myself to make this week a giant experiment in food!  You know all those recipes you see on tv or in a magazine and say to yourself “I am going to make that”, and then file it away in your brain and never do?  Well, this week I decided to make some of those recipes.  Who better to use as guinea pigs than my own parents!  We had a prime rib roast dinner, a greek dinner with lamb, chicken wings, pineapple chicken, pasta with shrimp and spinach, and turkey chili!  Even though, non of these dishes are new to our table, the recipes I used to make them were. 

My biggest success was my cauliflower mash.  I made this instead of mashed potatoes with the roast dinner.  We eat alot of cauliflower at my house!  Its such an underated veggie, but one of our favs.  Cauliflower is one of those foods that is just begging for a little love and attention.  It’s neutral, clean taste makes it the perfect candidate for a medley of spices.  My daughter loves her cauliflower roasted with curry and garlic, I love mine steamed and served with a dollop of lemon and chive sourcream!  The possibilities are as vaste as your imagination can think up!  I steamed a whole head of cauliflower, cooked through completely, then mashed it with all the traditional mashed potato fixins: milk, butter, sourcream, cream cheese and parsley!  If I hadn’t told my brother what I was doing, he would have thought he was eating mashed potatoes!  I just used the tiniest amounts of low-fat sourcream, cream cheese and butter, about a tablespoon each.  Any way you make your mashed potatoes will work with cauliflower to, so give it a try 🙂

On a whole, my recipes turned out great and will be adding quite a few of them to my monthly meal plans!  Some, like the chicken wing sauces, need a little tweaking to make them my own, but on the whole, I’d consider this experiment a success!  I encourage everyone to make one new recipe this week for dinner, and then let me know how it turns out 🙂

Ok, so on to the main event of the day, my weigh-in.  Are you ready? 268lbs!!!  YES, your eyes are seeing it right, thats a loss of 7 pounds, for a total loss of 11 pounds since I started this blog.  Go Jenn Go!!!  I know I won’t lose that much weight every week (nor should I, if I’m losing the weight properly) BUT I’m so happy to know that I can lose that much weight!!!  YAY 🙂

Take care everyone!

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

