Revisiting the Chicken and The Egg

Talking about Easter today made me think about eggs, and that made me think about chickens, which in turn made me think about which came first… and I leapt from there to PCOS.  Really, eggs, chickens and PCOS?  Well, the egg versus the chicken conundrum is similar to a problem facing many women with PCOS.  To put it bluntly, Are you FAT because you have PCOS or are do have have PCOS because you are FAT?  The answer to that question depends on who you talk to.  The first time my doctor mentioned PCOS to me was when I went to him for my weight.  I had tried absolutely EVERYTHING to lose weight, yoyo diets, lifestyle change, gluten-free eating, supplements, personal trainers, nutritionists.  I was at my wits end because I was desperate to get pregnant and felt that my weight was the reason I couldn’t.  His reply to my problem was that I have PCOS because I’m fat and to join Weight Watchers and do at least 1 hour of intense workout everyday.  End of the problem and away I go.  So me being me, I went home and did my research!  I found alot of information indicating that excess weight can cause PCOS-like symptoms, but I found alot more information to indicate that PCOS may also be the cause of weight gain.  In my personal opinion, I think its a little of both, a vicious cycle.  PCOS=weight gain=increased symptoms=more weight gain and so on and so on…  For some women with PCOS, weight is not an issue, but an estimated 50-80% of women with PCOS are overweight or obese.  According to Hilary Wright, women who are obese may suffer more harm from the effects of PCOS.  Their symptoms are escalated because the excess weight aggravates the syndrome.  She contemplates that women with a predisposition to PCOS are more sensitive to normal, everyday influences and therefore succomb to their effects a little easier.  Things like too little excercise, increased food portions, not enough fruits and veggies, not eating on a regular basis, skipping meals, SUGAR and other processed foods and too much junk food.  These problems impact everyone but women with PCOS seem more susceptible to them.  Gaining weight (a little easier than others) from the reasons listed above, may tip a women’s symptomless (or mild) PCOS into full blown PCOS and continued weight gain from the cumulative effects of PCOS and those environmental influences can cause severe symptoms.

At the end of the day, I don’t really which came first, the end results are still the same.  Chickens will always lay eggs, and from those eggs will hatch chickens (at least in my lifetime, I doubt I will see the natural evolution of chickens and eggs, although, you never really know, do you 😉 ?!), in the same way weight will always be linked to PCOS, whether one caused the other isn’t important to me.  Ultimately, losing weight will not only help keep my PCOS symptoms at bay, but  it will also increase my fertility and just make me a happier, healthier ME. 

On a more fun note, I completely forgot about Earth Day.  KB doesn’t have school that day because its also Good Friday, so it looks like we’ll be crafting away!  I figure Earth Day is a good time to harness KB’s insatiable need to collect and hoard (I swear she doesn’t get it from me :P) ‘found’ objects and introduce her to the art of upcycling.  While her and The Hubby are away next week, I’m moving her bedroom and I think this will be a great opportunity for her to create some useful and decorative things for her new room!  Remember when I told you not to throw out you dyed egg shells?  I found this great craft that combines Easter and Earth Day together and I think we will be rejuvenating some of my old vases using this technique for KB’s room!

I found this at Crafts by Amanda and I think it will be alot of fun for us to do! 
 
 I also found a page with a whole bunch of really fun Easter Egg decorating ideas, because obviously you can never decorate too many eggs at Easter hahaha.  Alot of them would work really well with wooden eggs, that way you can keep them to bring out every Easter!  Check out Hands on: as we grow for some great ideas!
 
Thats all from me for now!  Take care everyone!
I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo
Leave a Reply

