cooking · crafts · family · food · infertility · PCOS · Uncategorized

Lost: One left fallopian tube, dearly loved and missed, reward offered!

This has been a good news-bad news week, let me tell ya!  It started when The Hubby called to tell me that he remembered to fill out her permission slip for swimming lessons with her class at school, so she won’t miss out (good news)  BUT KB accidentally knocked over my favorite fruit bowl, breaking it (bad news).  That call was followed (literally 30 seconds later) by a call from the fertility clinic nurse to tell me that my ultrasound results came back crystal clear and my follicles look normal (good news!!!) BUT I have a giant cyst on my left ovary that is of concern so I need to go for more ultrasounds to see if surgery is required (bad news-BOO).

Lastly, today I had my HSG (what is an HSG? I’ll let you know in just a sec!).  I had to be at the hospital for 7am (thats some bad news right there :P), and its over an hour drive my house.  The Hubby wanted to come along (for moral support and breakfast at Denny’s) so we were all up and out of the house by 5:45am (even more bad news).  I’ve never been to the Foothills Hospital before and I hope I never have to go back… wishful thinking, I know…  Trying to find the right place felt like navigating a labrynth, complete with its own Minotaur at the end.  We finally found the radiology department at exactly 7:00am, but the waiting room already had 8 women who were there for the same procedure.  My name was finally called at 8:00am.  After stripping down to my socks, I got to wait in another waiting room with 6 of the other women.  There is nothing more comfortable then a room full of women in hospital gowns, waiting to have a syringe filled with dye shoved up their vajayjay so that their fallopian tubes can be BLASTED by the dye and then have pictures taken first thing in the morning.  You’d think we would have alot to talk about, but most of the women were in deep contemplation over how to handle the imminent pain they were about to endure.  Most people describe the pain as somewhere between  an uncomfortable pap test to the most painful period cramps you could possible imagine.  I’m sure most of us were hoping for the prior, but anticipating the latter.

When it was finally my turn, I went in, lyed down on the table, spread eagle and prepared for the worst.  Both the doctor and radiologist were very sweet and had great bedside manner and I was pleasantly (as much as you can be, at least) surprised that the pain was tolerable.  And then, some GOOD news!  According to Dr. Wong, I have a beautiful uteris, which he cheerily showed me on the x-ray.  I wanted to take some pictures with my cell phone but I didn’t have a whole lot of hiding spots for it in a hospital gown.  Then he showed me my ‘wonderfully working’ right fallopian tube!  Yay, 2 for 3, but thats when the BAD news came.  “I can’t see your left fallopian tube”, he said to me.  “Um, it should be there”, was all I could say.  He asked if it was alright to inject a second syringe of dye (ouchie 😦  ) and see if that would help flush out the left tube.  Obviously, I said yes, but to no avail.  My left fallopian tube, for lack of a better word, is MISSING.  I can’t make this up… its GONE.  I mentioned about the cyst on my left ovary and asked if maybe that was hiding my missing tube, we both agreed that must be the answer(Dr. Wong didn’t seem very convinced)… yes, thats it, its just hiding… :s  Before I left there was mention of a follow-up HSG, meeting with my doctor and possible SURGERY, but I really wasn’t listening, I was focused more on where the heck did my fallopian tube go???

So that was, what I thought would be, my last adventure in fertility for awhile.  However, it looks like its just the beginning.  Now, what is this HSG or Hysterosalpingogram  procedure?  Basically, its an x-ray of your uteris and fallopian tubes taken while a dye is injected through your fallopian tubes.  From this procedure you can detect whether or not the fallopian tubes are blocked or leaking.  It also shows if you have endometrial polyps, adhesions, uterine or fallopian abnormalities and the list goes on.  It also shows your doctor the quality of your fallopian structure.  At the very least, it acts as a ‘flush’ to clean out the fallopian tubes and in fact, many women become pregnant shortly after the procedure (my fingers are crossed, but my hopes aren’t up).

Enough talk about female anatomy, I thought to end my little story I would share with you this really great idea for a yummy Easter treat that will amaze your kids, and believe it or not, it even incorporates A SYRINGE!!!

Aren’t these incredible?!!!  You need to check out the tutorial for making these beautiful little rainbows of jiggly yummy-ness at Choose to Thrive .  I definitely think I’ll be giving them a try.  I am already thinking of at least a hundred different molds that you could use to wow people with this colourful treat.

I can hear my pillow calling so thats all for me!  Take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m (50%) Fertile, ttfn, xo

5 thoughts on “Lost: One left fallopian tube, dearly loved and missed, reward offered!

  1. hi i just found out yesterday my left tube is missing! can i ask what has happened wih you since you found out? have you had any luck conceiving?

    1. I have conceived (most ending in miscarriage) and did have a successful pregnancy, and have a gorgeous 7 year old daughter!!! It is absolutely possible to have children with only one fallopian tube so don’t give up hope!!! At the time I had my daughter I didn’t realize there was anything wrong since I had not yet been diagnosed with PCOS so I hadn’t gone through any testing. She was an unexpected but completely amazing surprise. It’s now been 7 years since we started trying for #2 with no luck. I have had a few miscarriages though, so despite the heartache that they bring, the fact is, I have gotten pregnant more than once with just one fallopian tube, which means that you can to! My personal suggestion is to stay as healthy as you can, keep active, eat properly, and find a way to relax and deal with stress. I assume you are seeing a doctor so make sure to stick with a regular check-up regiment and if you are seeking fertility treatments stick with them. Most importantly, don’t put too much pressure on yourself (I know, it’s easier said than done). Stay positive, and keep your hope up! Good luck, and please let me know how you are doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

