Brain power

I have a degree in psychology so it was inevitable that at some point I would write about the brain and its role in PCOS.

This week in my facebook newsfeed there were 2 articles posted about the power of mind over matter when dealing with PCOS.  I am a firm believer in mind over matter and try to employ it on a daily basis.  Growing-up, my Dad always encouraged my brother and I to visualize the things we wanted.  We were being preached the Law of Attraction before “The Secret” ever came out.  Of course, we shrugged off most of what my Dad was saying at the time, but as we got older we realized that it really did have merit (sssshhhhh don’t tell him he was right 😉  ).  I think the first time I really understood that there was actually something to this concept, I was about 15 and being a swimmer and lifeguard, I got a plantar’s wart.  Using store bought medications was a pain in the ass, and I was not about to go to the doctor to have him BURN it, so I started looking for an alternative cure.  I really wanted something that would get rid of the one I had AND prevent new ones.  An internet search quickly brought up the same cures that I had already considered, along with a third option: using the power of your mind to get rid of your plantar’s warts.  SERIOUSLY!  Relunctantly, I figured I’d give it a shot.  Every night for a week, before I went to bed I visualized my feet, and the wart disappearing.  By the end of the week IT WAS GONE!!!  I was amazed, so I told a friend who was having the same problem and guess what?  After she tried it hers were gone as well, and when my daughter got one last year, I helped her to visualize hers disappearing and its gone.  I truly believe that the mind has a powerful effect on your physical body.

The first post was right up my ‘inner-psychologist’s’ alley.  It discussed the possibility that past experiences and subconscious mental blocks could be a contributing factor to infertility.  While, ultimately, the article was promoting a for-profit infertility program (which I am not promoting at all) the concept it touched on was interesting.  Basically, it encourages you to identify any underlying emotions which may be inhibiting your fertility.  These emotions could be anything from the stress of being unable to conceive to childhood trauma.  The example used in the article was of a couple who both encountered fertility issues.  Through therapy they were able to uncover that alot of their fertility problems were linked to emotionally abusive childhoods.  Their inability to conceive came from an innate fear of turning into their own parents.  We’ve all said we don’t want to be like our parents, but are there certain circumstances when that fear is so great as to have a physical impact on us?   Apparently, by resolving their issues and facing their fears they were finally able to conceive, after over a decade of trying.

There was a little test at the end of their blurb, that you could take to identify if you have any emotional problems that may be blocking your fertility.  I didn’t happen to have any of the indicators, but I can see how many women would, and while I don’t necessarily think that we should all go out searching for an emotional reason that caused our infertility, I do think it is worthwhile to explore whether or not you may in fact have some issues to discuss.  Many fertility clinics offer councelling or provide you with referrals to therapists if you want it, and I think its a good idea for more women to start using the service.  While talking about your current emotional state and how you feel about your infertility, it might be beneficial to explore your past as well.  For example, maybe you grew-up in a house where children were not thought of very highly, or perhaps you were raised with an expectation to have children, but deep down inside you really don’t want any.  It’s possible there are issues hidden under the surface, that once brought to light may, at least, relieve some of the stress you are facing, and as we all know, STRESS is a large contributor to infertility.  While these problems may be contributing to your infertility (and possibly to the severity of your PCOS sympotms because of the stress) it is important to remember that they are NOT the cause.

The second facebook newsfeed was actually a video discussing the importance of keeping a positive, open mind and visualizing yourself being fertile and pregnant and happy [insert “I TOLD YOU SO” from my Dad].  Now this is where I lose people.  Almost everyone I have ever spoken to about visualization is skeptical.  Some will humour me and, at least, pretend to be listening, and others just laugh it off right away.  There are a few who agree with me, have used visualization, or are interesting in trying it.  You don’t have to approach it from the “Buddha-Om-Yoga” if you don’t really go for that type of mind-frame, think of it more as an exercise in self-reflection.  I truly believe in chakra, auras, and body energy, so for me, visualization is a way to tune into my body energy and help guide it.  If thats not your thing at all, then you could use visualization as a way to relax and have some time to yourself.

It has been long known that athletes use visualization to prepare themselves for competitions.

My thoughts before a big race are usually pretty simple. I tell myself: Get out of the blocks, run your race, stay relaxed. If you run your race, you’ll win….Channel your energy. Focus.
Carl Lewis Track and Field Champion Athlete
I have been visualizing myself every night for the past four years standing on the podium having the gold placed around my neck.
Megan Quann, Swimming Champion 

If it works for athletes to help them perform at their peak and win a championship or a gold medal, then why can’t it work for a women whose goal is to have her body work at its peak to produce children?  In my opinion, anything that helps you to stay positive, and focused is a good thing, and its part of my daily regime of health!  You should give it a try!!!

Take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

 

Leave a Reply

