AAA All Stars

For today’s 3 super foods I thought I’d highlight the triple A’s: Almonds, Avocado and Apples!

Almonds (and other nuts!): Almonds are another protein powerhouse with one ounce containing as much as 12% of your daily protein allowance. They are also filled with other essential nutrients like vitamin E, calcium, folic acid, zinc, and the list goes on. These tasty little treats are also a great source of ‘good’ fats, fibre(which gives you the feeling of being full longer) and phytochemicals. They help prevent cancer, lower cholesterol and decrease your risk of cardiovascular disease. They are so veratile as well. Eat them raw, cooked, as a spreadable butter, baked, or any way you can think of (as long as its not salted or sugared :P). These are one little gem that you will always find in my purse and they make a great companion to an apple for my afternoon snack while waiting to pick up KB at school! And the best part is that, although I’m allergic to peanuts, I don’t seem to be as sensitive to almonds, so I can munch away without worry.

Avocado: YES, avocados are high in fat BUT… its good fat (monosaturated fats) and can actually lower cholesterol! Avocados are full of phytochemicals and are also rich in vitamins, 13 essential ones to be exact, including A, B (several of the B vitamines!), C, D, E, and K. This nutrient packed, cancer fighting, heart healthy fruit is a great addition to salads, sandwhiches and dips of all kinds. Mexican night at our house just isn’t complete with some homemade guacamole 🙂

Apples: If you had asked me, as a little kid, what my favorite food of all time is I would have answered SPAGHETTI… followed quickly by apples! Growing up my Mum lived by the “an apple a day keeps the doctor away” adage. Apples made their appearance in every single school lunch I ever had. Oddly enough, if you asked me what my least favorite food of all time is, I would say banana anything followed by apple sauce, apple pie/cooked apples of any kind. It turns out that my discriminating apple palate has chosen wisely. Apple skins actually contain alot of the essential nutrients in the apple, including several anitoxidents and phytonutrients. Apples are also a great source of both soluble and insoluble fibre so they are not only great for lowering cholesterol but they also keep you feeling full longer. Flavonoids unique to apples, called phloridzin promote healthy lungs and can help prevent asthma and lung cancer, while the antioxident quercetin seems to inhibit tumour growth and can help to prevent cancers from spreading. So much good packed into such a beautiful little package. One of my favorite things about apples is that they also curb my cravings for sweets.

Here is a recipe for a quick lunch or afternoon snack! This recipe serves one and can literally be altered in a million different ways! Just changing the type of apple you pick will change the taste of this salad!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 apple, cubed
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 1 1/2 tbsp almond slivers
  • 2 cups of lettuce, chopped
  • 2 tbsp honey mustard (or to taste)

Just toss together and serve 🙂

Here is a yummy and versitile guacamole recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 avocados
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions
  1. Peel and mash avocados in a medium serving bowl. Stir in onion, garlic, tomato, lime juice, salt and pepper. Season with remaining lime juice and salt and pepper to taste. Chill for half an hour to blend flavors. If you like your guac spicy, add hotsauce or chilis to taste as well.

Enjoy some healthy eating this week! Take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

