family · infertility · PCOS · Uncategorized

The big 3 Oh-No!

I totally got my butt kicked last week by the stomach flu so I didn’t get a chance to write anything.  It’s the first time, in a long time, that I’ve had it so I guess I was due.  Something else happened to me last week, its scary, but true, I turned 30… AHHHHHH… No big pomp and circumstance, no surprise parties or “I’m way too old to be up this late at night, drinking in a bar, dancing on the tables, trying desperately to hold on to the last wisps of my youth” girls night .  Nope, it happened quietly, as a lay on the couch, hoping my chicken broth would stay down, drifting in and out of consciousness while watching old tv shows I pvr’d, foolishly believing that one day I will actually have time to watch them.  One minute I was 29 and then POOF I was 30.

I’ve watched all year (on facebook) as my friends have tried to cope with turning 30, some having a harder time of it then others but I never really gave it a thought for myself.  I don’t feel any different than I did a couple weeks ago, I don’t look any different either.  I haven’t suddenly turned grey and had an impulse to cover my furniture in plastic.  I haven’t gone the other way either, having an urge to act like I’m 20 in some sort of pre-mid-life crisis.  Rather my days are exactly the same as ever.  Maybe it’s because no one else made a big deal of my birthday so it wasn’t really on my mind alot.  In fact, I even forgot about it until my Dad’s came up (his is a few days before mine) and even then, it never dawned on me to think about the number…30…  And then yesterday, after glancing a couple articles earlier in the week regarding fertility and age, I got it, that sinking feeling, the pit in the bottom of my stomach, that I am 30.  Oh.My.God.  You see, although it hasn’t changed my looks, feelings or opinions, 30 HAS changed my reproductive system.  Ok, so there isn’t this magic clock sitting in my ovaries set to self-destruct at the exact moment I turn 30, it does happen over time, obviously, but 30 is that magic fertility number that we always hear of.  How many times have we read or heard “Your chances of conceiving diminish drastically after the age of 30”.  WHAT AM I GOING TO DO???

According to one article I read at Strollerderby: News for Parents, the odds of conceiving after the age of 30 is less than 30%.  SERIOUSLY?  And after 40 it drops down to less than 10%.  It seems our physiological evolution has not caught up to our psychological evolution, with more women than ever postponing parenthood until well into the 30’s and on to their 40’s.  At BabyCentre.com they rate your chances of getting pregnant in any one ovulation cycle as 15% after the age of 30, with the odds of becoming pregnant within a year of trying (having sex at least 3 times a week) at about 65-75%.  65% sounds alot better than 30% but that number doesn’t reflect how many women have to seek fertility treatments just to maintain those odds.

With all these numbers stewing around in my head I am also noticing another hot topic when it comes to having babies after age 30.  Terms like “advanced maternal age” and “high risk” are closely associated with conception after 30, and even more so after 35.  We all know the strong link between age and down syndrome, and more and more we are seeing the link between twins and age as well.  Women between the ages of 35 and 39 are the most likely to have twins.  After 30 there are increased odds of miscarriage, and c-sections to.

What does all this mean for you and I?  In my opinion, absolutely NOTHING!  They are just numbers, they have no control of you, so don’t let them.  The last thing any woman trying to conceive needs is more information to stress and worry over.  Yes, you’re right, knowledge is power, and it is better to have realistic expectations of fertility when trying to conceive but use the knowledge to your advantage, don’t let it get you down.  The numbers don’t illustrate the hundreds of thousands of women who DO have many children  throughout their 30’s (both naturally and with the help of fertility treatments).  Take my friend Kim, for example, who had 6… yes SIX… beautiful, healthy, perfect children all after the age of 30, and, may I add, never had any fertility treatments, nor did she have any c-sections, and even had most of them at home!

So WHAT AM I GOING TO DO?  Its simple, really.  I am going to work as hard as I can to lose weight, eat properly, exercise, get my 8 hours of sleep every night, and keep my stress levels down!  I can’t turn back the clock but I can protect the time I have by treating myself right!  We all can.  30 is not my fertility enemy, it is a friendly reminder to take care of myself and be grateful for everything I have in life because when reduced down to just numbers it all seems so impossible to have.

Thanks for reading today!  Take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

4 thoughts on “The big 3 Oh-No!

    1. Thank you so much for reading! I try to just explain things in my own words and the way it makes sense to me so I’m glad to hear it makes sense to everyone else to 🙂

    1. Which contact details would you like? I haven’t really worked on my profile yet because I don’t have alot of readers but I will add as much info as I can to it!

Leave a Reply

