Christmas · family · food · Uncategorized

Family Fun Fridays: Christmas WINS

As promised, my Christmas WINS for the season 🙂  I was actually so uplifted after writing my post on Tuesday that I started writing this post right after!!!  Things will never be perfect so whats the point in being upset when they aren’t, right?  Its what I always tell KB, “as long as you are doing your best then nothing else matters”, well, I need to start living what I preach!!!  Besides, who am I kidding?  Every year I make big plans, and every year something doesn’t work out the way I thought it would.  That’s life!  This year just happened to be a perfect storm of ‘life’.  I’ve been having a hard time dealing with the fact that now that my parents have moved out here it has basically cemented the fact that I probably won’t be moving back home ever (or at least not for a very long time), that coupled with the fact that this is the first time since moving away that we aren’t going home for Christmas has me struggling to cope.  Working extra jobs and volunteering has me busier than ever, leaving less time for the things I normally do at Christmas time.  And I can’t help but dwell on the fact that I didn’t meet a personal goal I made to be pregnant again by age 30.  Some how I convinced myself that if I just wanted it bad enough, it would magically happen, despite having PCOS, despite still being over weight, despite all the odds stacked against me.  What really hit me hard about this goal was that for the first time since she was 2 KB did NOT ask for a baby brother for Christmas this year from Santa.  Now, mind you, she is older and knows that Santa doesn’t really have a hand in the baby-making process, but her not asking made me realize that she actually hasn’t mentioned having siblings in a very long time.  She has already resolved herself to being an only child and it breaks my heart 😦

OK WHOA— PAUSE—

Can you tell wrote all that on Tuesday?  I was still stuck in my Christmas blues 😦  But enough of that!  On to the Christmas fun we’ve had this year!!!

WIN#1: This year we started a new tradition in our home!  I finally bought an Elf on the Shelf.  I had been wanting to start the tradition with KB when she was really little but thought it would be more fun when she was a little older.  I forgot about it for a couple of years and then decided this year would be a good time to start!  We have been having so much fun with our elf (Chippy, just like in the book :P) and with the movie out this year KB was so excited to see that her elf showed up on her doorstep just like in the movie!  Chippy is a bit of a mischievous elf and gets into some messes here and there (like making snow angels in icing sugar, or sneaking into some Christmas chocolate) but we love him!  This is definitely a BIG WIN for the season 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WIN#2: We started a second Christmas tradition this year as well.  Our 1st annual Christmas trip to Banff!  We usually make it up to the Banff or Lake Louise area every summer but since moving here we haven’t trekked out into the mountains in the winter.  We changed that this year and had such a good time that we plan to do it every year now, at Christmas time!  We drove up to Banff for their Santa Claus parade, and although the parade left a lot to be desired, the town, itself, was so pretty and festive, and their was the perfect amount of snow on the ground to make it feel exactly the way Christmas in the mountains should.  We shopped, drank hot chocolate, had a really great Thai dinner and even enjoyed a beaver tail(if you don’t know what a Beaver Tail is, its a flat, oval, deep fried pastry, bigger than your head, that originates in my home town!  They are only just starting to branch out from the Ottawa Valley area so when they tweeted that they were opening one here in Alberta, I was sooo excited!  I love mine with cinnamon, sugar, and lemon mmm mmm mmm 😀 ) for the ride home.  Even with the snow storm on the drive home it was a perfect day 🙂

Banff at Christmas is so pretty!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WIN#3: A Healthy Christmas meal plan!  I stuck to my guns this year and made healthy snacks, meals and even treats!  My whole wheat sugar cookies were an especially big hit and the organic, free-range turkey was so good.  Everyone felt great after Christmas feasting… no gorging, bloating, weight gain…just happy, healthy, satisfied tummies 😀

WIN#4: I DROPPED the stress!  My motto for this season was “THAT’S OK”.  Didn’t find all the things I was looking for as gifts for people…THAT’S OK!  Didn’t get to bake all the goodies I usually do to give to our friends and neighbours…THAT’S OK!  Didn’t get to make Christmas cards this year…THAT’S OK!  Didn’t make our ornaments this year…THAT’S OK!  Guess what, I survived the season without any of that, so obviously it was OK!  Everyone on my list had awesome gifts and I didn’t break the bank going overboard like I usually do.  I baked lots of cookies and gave those out, and I’m pretty sure no one thought to themselves “hmmm she usually gives us more variety than this, I’m disappointed”.  I sent out cards to everyone on my list and I doubt any of them threw them out because they weren’t handmade.  And KB made some Christmas ornaments at school and she loves them so we didn’t need to make more at home.  I did my best with the time I had and I think it all turned out great in the end!!!

easy-peasy wifesaver! Just make it the night before, then pop it in the oven while opening presents for an easy, yummy, Christmas breakfast!
some of the really simple, delicious Christmas cookies I made!!!

 

WIN#5: By adjusting my expectations of myself I was able to sit back and appreciate things!  This is the first Christmas in a long time where I wasn’t trying to get the perfect picture of everyone opening a present or fussing over a way too complicated menu.  I prepped as much food as possible the night before.  I put my camera down, and just participated in the gift opening.  I let the day evolve on its own and it was GREAT 🙂

I guess that about wraps it up for me for another year.  I hope you all had a great Christmas/holiday season and I wish you all the best of  Happiness, Health and Fertility in 2012.  Take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

