cooking · family · food · PCOS · weight loss

Family Friday: Meatless Mondays :)

Hello everyone!  I didn’t write a post Wednesday because I’m trying to compile some ideas for that day’s post and I thought I would bring it you as well.  What would you like me to write about?  I have been focusing mainly on PCOS and healthy eating related topics but I want to make sure I’m actually writing about things that you want to read about, so give me your ideas, requests and suggestions.  I’d really like to keep my Wednesday post health related, and will continue to bring as much PCOS info as possible, especially as things happen with me, but if there is anything specific that you’d like me to write about please let me know 🙂

So continuing my Friday Food Fun I thought I’d talk a little about our Meatless Mondays adventures!  I think it’s really important to explore food options with your children and expose them to as many different types of food as possible.  One way that we have decided to do that is introduce Meatless Mondays.  Not only is it a health-concious decision on my part, but it’s also a great way to break the “meat and potatoes” mold that so many of us were raised in. 

We started our meatless adventure with Tosca Reno’s Paradise Island Bean Burgers (click here for the recipe).  They were fantastic, in my opinion, and ‘acceptable’ to The Hubby!  It was a good start.  Acceptable is definitely better than DISGUSTING.  To bolster more support from him, I devised a plan for the next week.  I took out all the ingredients for my idea of what I wanted for dinner.  I envisioned a beans and rice type dish.  I left everything out on the cutting board then busied myself with other things.  When The Hubby came home and saw that I was busy and hadn’t started dinner he automatically went into chef mode and when he realized I was just going to “wing-it” he took over.  Devious plan FOR THE WIN!!!  Let me tell you, sometimes he really does prove that culinary school was worth it because the dinner he created that night was delicious.  Of course, I didn’t take a picture or write down what he did, but I’m sure we will be making it again very soon because it was a big hit with everyone.

Although I had The Hubby on board 100% now and my parents following suit, this week’s Meatless Monday was a failure 😦  I planned to make a scrumptious and comforting dish that is a favorite with my family: Butternut Squash penne.  I’ve made this a few times and everyone always loves it.  Believe it or not I got the recipe from an episode of Rachel Ray’s 30 Minute Meals.  I normally add bacon to it, but planned to use chick peas instead, as a protein source and just for something different.  Sadly, the butternut squash, which looked beautiful on the outside, was all yucky on the inside.  I hadn’t really anticipated that so while I was trying to come up with another solution, a decision was made to just buy a pre-cooked chicken and have a salad.  Not a biggie, I’ll get them back one day (insert maniacal laugh). 

My plan for next week’s Meatless Monday has me excited!  Not only does it look really yummy, but it should do the trick at pay back for the boys taking over this week’s Meatless Monday.  I’m making vegetarian shepherd’s pie 😀  It’s been a really long time, years actually, since I’ve made a Shepherd’s pie and its one of my Dad’s favorites.  It’s on The Hubby’s hate list though, so right away, there is his pay back!  Pay back for my Dad and brother will come with they realize that there is no meat in it, and that I’ve replaced most of the potato on top with cauliflower, muahahahaha.  It really does look good though and I think everyone will love it, in the end!  Here is the original recipe that I found at Everything Mom and from what the article says, they found it on an app on their iPad (the link is below the title).

Shepherdless Pie
DK Quick Cook App

Prep 15 mins, Cook 30 mins

Special equipment • food processorshepherless_pie_meatless_recipe_quick_cook_app

SERVES 4

1 1/2lb (675g) russet (baking) potatoes, peeled and quartered
1 tbsp butter, plus extra for dotting on top
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 bay leaf
3 celery ribs, finely chopped
3 carrots, finely chopped
7oz (200g) mushrooms, coarsely chopped
handful of fresh thyme sprigs, leaves picked (reserve some for garnish)
splash of soy sauce
1 x 15oz (425g) can aduki beans, drained and rinsed
2/3 cup hot vegetable stock
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F (200°C).
  2. To make the topping, boil the potatoes in a saucepan of salted water for 15–20 minutes, or until soft. Drain the potatoes, then mash. Add the butter, and mash again. Set aside and keep warm.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large frying pan over low heat. Add the onion, bay leaf, and a pinch of salt, and cook for 5 minutes until the onion is soft. Add the celery and carrot and cook for another 5 minutes.
  4. Pulse the mushrooms several times in a food processor—you want them finely chopped, but not mushy. Add these to the pan along with the thyme leaves and soy sauce, and cook for 5–10 minutes, until the mushrooms begin to release their juices. Add the aduki beans, and season well with salt and pepper. Pour in the stock, bring to a boil, reduce the heat slightly, and simmer for 5 minutes.
  5. Scrape into a baking dish and top with the reserved mashed potatoes. Dot with butter, and bake until the topping is crisp and golden. Serve hot.

Variation
If you can’t find aduki beans, use drained canned lentils or even red kidney beans.

Because there is alot of potato in this recipe I am going to break my recipe rule (always try a recipe exactly the way it is first, before playing with it so you know the way it is supposed to turn out and taste) just a little bit.  I plan on using 1/4 russet potatos, 1/4 sweet potato and 1/2 cauliflower.  I may just use all sweet potato… we’ll see!  I’ll let you know how it turns out, with pictures, next week.  Until then, remember to send me your questions and suggestions for post ideas and take care everyone 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

