Uncategorized

Welcome to Wednesday!  Here is my gym report:  I am still going!  Yep… not much to report really.  I go 3 to 4 times a week and I usually workout for about 45 minutes or so.  3 days a week I warm up for 20 minutes, either on the treadmill or the bike, then I do the weight circuit.  I find the machines much easier than free weights, and I’m a lot less inclined to cheat on the machines.  It takes me about 20 minutes to do the circuit all the way through, doing 20 reps per machine.  At least one day of the 3 I will spend a little more time on the ab machines and do some core training with the yoga ball and bosu ball.  Mostly because I understand the importance of core strength and maybe just a little (a very very little 😉  ) because I actually know how to use them properly and feel cool being able to 😛  On the 4th day (and the 5th day, when I get there) I focus on just cardio.  I will really push myself on the elliptical machine for as long as I can go, and then spend the rest of the time on the treadmill.  Really, thats all there is to it!  Oh, and I forgot to mention one thing, I’ve lost FOUR POUNDS!  YAY ME 🙂  I know, four pounds isn’t “parade through main street” worthy, but a pound is a pound and I’ve lost four, so I’m happy about that!!!

I thought, for this post, I would talk a little about depression.  There is a strong connection between depression and PCOS.  From all the research I’ve done, no one can really say what the cause is.  It’s a sort of “which came first, the chicken or the egg” type deal.  Is the depression caused by the metabolic effects of PCOS, or does the depression come from having to deal with all the symptoms of PCOS.  Basically, is the depression an actual symptom, or the outcome of dealing with the symptoms.  In either case, it can be devastating.  It’s important to realize that depression is more than just feeling sad or having the ‘blues’.  Depression is a state in which you cannot pull yourself out.  It starts to affect your entire life, sleeping, eating, work, social life.

While I was doing my degree in psychology Depression was in it’s Prozac and Zoloft haydays so I think we touched on depression in pretty much EVERY class I took.  Here is my (VERY) basic take on it, minus the boring neuroscience and psychotherapy.  You can pick up any text book or search online for the ins and outs of depression in it’s physiological sense.  I won’t bore you with any details.

If you have prolonged periods of feeling down (lasting more than a few days), whether for a specific reason (like a death in the family or “baby blues”) or just in general go speak with your doctor.  If you have consistent short bursts of feeling down, go see your doctor.  If you feel down all winter long and just can’t get out of your rut until spring, go see your doctor.  If you are feeling like you just aren’t worth it, there is no point to you being here, and you just want to end it, GO SEE YOUR DOCTOR…NOW!  Schedule an appointment and have a chat!  Maybe your doctor will tell you it’s nothing to worry about, maybe they’ll recommend some vitamins and a good, healthy, lifestyle change (that can make all the difference sometimes!) and sometimes, they will recommend a more thorough course of action like medication and therapy.  Don’t worry about the outcome, concentrate on the first step… seeing your doctor.

If you truly feel your depression stems from your PCOS symptoms, and I think it does for so many of us, ask for a referral to a therapist who can help you talk through your feelings.  In my case, when I have a surge of depressive feelings I cry (A LOT sometimes), confide in a good friend or my parents (I always tell them at the start that I’m not looking for their advice, opinions, or answers, I just need to let it out) and I write about it.  I urge everyone to find a healthy outlet, a way to just release all the stress, anxiety, and ugly thoughts that are weighing you down.  Everyone’s outlet is different, some are like me and just literally let it all out, others may workout, turn to a crafting project or treat themselves to a spa treatment.  If you turn to eating, drinking, drugs or other destructive behaviours, than I once again encourage you to get a referral to a therapist!

At the end of the day, there is no real rhyme or reason to depression and who it affects.  You can’t CAUSE your depression and you can’t control why some people can easily cope with the stressors in their life while yours are always bringing you down.  In fact, you can’t even always link depression to specific stressors, sometimes it just hits you with no notice and for no particular reason.  What you CAN do is identify your stressors, understand your reactions to them and learn to find ways to cope.  You CAN seek help when you feel yourself becoming depressed and you CAN take care of yourself and others by treating your depression instead of hiding it.  Turn your depression into motivation and use it to get your butt in gear and take control of your PCOS.  Depression may continue to rear it’s ugly head but you’ll be ready for it.

I am thinking of putting together a list of some of my coping strategies for depression and stress… not that I’m any expert on the subject, but sharing can sometimes spark ideas in others, for their own ways to cope.  I’d love to hear some of the things you do as well!  Tomorrow’s post will be much lighter in subject, I promise, oh and filled with pictures to 😀

Oh, and PS- Did you know that women are twice as likely to suffer from depression than men are, but they are also more likely to seek help for it–Good job taking care of yourselves, ladies!!!

Take care everyone, 🙂

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile, ttfn, xo

Leave a Reply

