adoption · crafts · family · Family Day · Happiness · Health · Kids · resolutions · scrapbooking

Happy New Year! Welcome 2013

I took a really long break, not completely intentional, but life caught up with me and I decided blogging had to wait until I could devote more time to doing it right!  Once again, for the new year I am ready to give it another go.

I had a lot on the go in 2012 but I stuck with my goal of making sure to take care of myself.  I’ve made a bunch of new friends, I’ve worked on my diet, I’ve taken a few more steps towards career goals, I’ve enrolled in some university classes and, of course, we have continued our adoption journey.

My resolution for 2013 is to Enjoy the Moments!  By nature, I am a worrier (I know, it’s a woman thing, but I worry more than even most women do, sometimes).  I sometimes struggle to realize how great things are right now because I’m more focused on what needs to be done later.  I really want this blog to help me document what is here and now, which forces me to take time and appreciate what is going on as it happens (or at least, within the same week that things happen, since I will not be blogging everyday!).

To start the new year off and help stick to my resolution I’ve come up with 5 ways to help me Enjoy the Moments as they happen.

Planning:  Being a worrier, planning is crucial.  If things are left to chance, I can’t help but worry about what might happen.  I like to have my days/weeks/months planned in advance which helps me feel a little more in control.  I’m already pretty good at having my plans made, BUT I need to work on better communicating those plans to the rest of the house, so for this year, my goal is to communicate my plans, using the family calendar, and our weekday frames (I’ll post a picture of what those are!).  If everyone knows the plan than I will feel more confident that things will run smoothly.
Organization:  This goes hand in hand with planning since you can’t plan things in advance without being a little organized.  For me, again this year, it’s making sure everyone in the house is on the same page as me when it comes to organization.  I worry a lot less when I know that my pantry and fridge are organized, when coats, scarves, mittens, ect… are where they should be, when KB’s school stuff is put away properly and her dance and trampoline clothes are clean and ready to go!  Being organized means that if something comes up and I can’t be there to do something I normally do, someone else can take over and know where things are and how to get the job done! ( It also means my Dad won’t be told at 6am that I totally forgot KB has a pd day and he needs to stay home with her…sorry Dad)
Routine: Again, this goes hand in hand with the first two.  What is important to me about a routine, though, is the consistency (obviously) and reliability.  A good routine involves getting up and the same time each morning, eating meals, working out, going to bed ect…all around the same time each day.  Parts of our lives can’t help but be routine, since KB is involved in so many activities and school and work partially dictate wake up and bed times, but  I could be much better!  I need to work on TWO things this year for my routine.  The first is sticking to my routine a lot better, especially waking up and going to bed at the same time everyday.  The second is not allowing a small divergence from my routine to throw off the rest of my day.  A good routine makes it very easy for you to stick to good habits and knowing what is going to happen (for the most part) everyday gives my brain more time to appreciate things as they happen rather than worry about what’s coming up next!
Journaling:  Aside from using this blog as a journal to write about things going on in my life, I am also going to continue with my SMASH book journals!  I did one this past year and for the most part it worked out great!  I used it to keep little mementos from places we’d been or events we’d taken part in, I wrote funny little things that KB said or did, and even left some pages for thoughts and ideas that popped into my head!  I used  pre-made tags to write down my favourite songs, tv shows, movies and dreams I have for the upcoming year.  There is nothing formal about it, it’s all just smashed in there.  It really helped me take time to focus on what I was doing in the moment and enjoy it so I plan to do that again this year, along with a food/exercise journal.
Family and ME time: My family does a lot together but we always feel so rushed because I tend to cram a lot of things in all at the same time.  I might teach a class in the morning, then want to run my family to some event going on at the market, then have to rush home because someone is picking up their cake order.  It’s too much.  I never really enjoy what I’m doing because I’m more concerned with getting everything done on time and moving on to the next thing.  A lot of times when I’m putting KB to bed and we chat about the day she will talk about something that I hardly remember because I wasn’t paying attention, and I feel horrible for it (definite Mummy FAIL).  We usually call Sundays Family day but this year whenever we have a family day it will be devoted to JUST THE FAMILY!  No classes to be taught, no cakes to be made or delivered, nothing but my family!  This is where organization and planning comes back into play.  In order for me to pull this off I’m going to have to be organized about all the ‘extras’ I have to get done so that I’m not trying to multitask on family day.  I’m also devoting some time during my week to ME!  This will be time for me to scrapbook , craft, or even just read a book or watch a tv show without feeling guilty that I’m relaxing while there are things that need to be done.

So there you have it!  My five ways to help me Enjoy the Moments this year.  I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas holiday and I wish you all the best for 2013.  If you have any other ideas to help with my Enjoy the Moments resolutions or want to share your own ways of enjoying your moments, or even share your own resolution, then leave me a comment 😀

Enjoy the Moments, TTFN
Jenn

I’m Happy, I’m Healthy, I’m Fertile and we’re ADOPTING!!! (yep, it’s still my mantra for this year, though I’m focused more on the adoption than the fertility)

Leave a Reply

