Pocket Letters!!!

JUNE!  What can I say?  It’s filled with dance rehearsals, dress rehearsals, dance recitals, end of year field trips, small town parades, and restless kids just itching to start summer break.  It’s a busy month, and I haven’t had a chance to get into my craft area at all.  I’m behind on Project Life and my 12×12 layouts.  I did, however, find the time to do a pocket letter to send to a friend!

These cute little envelopes filled with goodies are the scrapbooker’s version of a pen pal letter.  I bought my collector cards page protectors (the kind you use for hockey cards!) at Dollarama and filled each of the pockets with stuff I had in my stash.  I chose a rainbow theme for this one, and simply cut some paper to fit each pocket, decorating one side for the front of the pockets and then filled the pocket with goodies in the back!  I picked things to match the colour of the card.  I fussy cut some flowers out of the yellow paper, found some pearls that matched most of the colours, added some stickers and chipboard.  Remember to include a little letter about yourself.. and voila… a really cute little gift to send in the mail to a new friend.

I found my pocket letter pal on a Facebook page that I belong to.  There are several out there just for pocket letter swapping.  And let me tell you, the talent and creativity that some ladies have is just incredible!!!  I plan to swap 1 or 2 a month.  It’s an homage to my days spent writing pen pals as a girl, and I’m excited to connect to new friends through the mail again.  In a day when connecting through ‘snail mail’ is pretty much extinct, I like that the scrapbooking community is keeping it alive in their own unique way.  It’s fun to share your creativity with others in a tangible way.  Plus, let’s be honest, who doesn’t love to receive happy mail?  I literally have a happy mail dance!!!

If you’d like to see the video I made of my first pocket letter, with a little bit more details, check it out HERE!  And here are some photos as well!!!

IMG_3085 IMG_3086 IMG_3087 IMG_3088 IMG_3089 IMG_3090

Thanks so much for reading!!!  Take care everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

