My One Little Word

 

Happy New Year everyone 🙂  Welcome to 2016!!!  I thought I’d share with you me One Little Word for the year.  If you’d like to know exactly what that means check out aliedwards.com for more information on her One Little Word project.  In short, you pick a word, every year, to give you focus and direction for the year.  It can be any word you’d like.  In the past I have chosen ‘Thankful’, ‘Appreciate’, and ‘Enjoy’.  Last year I chose the word ‘Me’.  My intentions for the word were to take the year to work on things that ‘fill our cup’, make us happy, and make us healthy.  I’ve always struggled with making myself a priority and I’ve noticed, more and more, that KB is having the same struggle.  I really want to make sure she understands that it is ok to take time for ourselves, to do the things we need to do to make sure we are the best that we can be.  For me, this meant time to craft, time to be alone without any responsibility, time to do the things that I’ve always skipped because I didn’t feel they were important enough to do (like take the time to do my hair and makeup in the morning, or get me hair cut, a massage, or even important things like get to the dentist on a regular basis).  This also meant I needed to understand and accept that it is ok to spend money on myself.  It was a difficult year, and didn’t necessarily go as planned, but I think we took many baby steps that have helped us to see that we need to work on this a lot more.

This brings me to 2016 and my new One Little Word.  As a way to continue with this idea of caring for ourselves, I’ve chosen a word that is an extension of last year’s, and perhaps the word I should have chosen last year: TIME.  This year we are going to focus on time management, assigning time appropriately, taking the time we need for each other, and ourselves, and appreciating the time we have.  I think this will be a much more successful word because (hopefully) my children and family will see that there is a time for everything, including Mum, and themselves.  I’d like them to be more aware of how we spend time and what it means to give our time and allow others to take their own time.  My hope is that KB (and myself) will come to realize that we are important enough to deserve time for ourselves, to ‘fill up our cups’, and develop healthy habits.

So what does this look like, from a practical point of view?  Well, it involves me setting up routines that include some ‘me-time’ in everyday, based on goals that we’ve all come up with for ourselves.  My personal goals include time to craft and film for my YouTube channel, time for self-care like hair cuts and massages (things that make me feel better) and time with each of the turkeys, individually, and The Hubs, which is something we’ve been missing out on.  Everyone in the family has their own unique goals, and we will spend the year finding ways to fit them all in!  Wish us luck 🙂

Thanks so much for reading!!!  I really appreciate it 🙂

Leave a Reply

