Getting Scrappy: Day at the Park

Ever have one of those days that just turns out great?  Nothing particular happened to make it great, things just all seemed to fall into place.  The kids got along, the weather cooperated, you weren’t running late for anything, and you were having a good hair day!  When those days happen for me, I know I end up taking a lot of pictures.  There is nothing especially exciting that I am trying to capture, other than just the natural happiness of the day.  These are the kinds of pictures that I like to put into Project Life, but every once in awhile I have more of a story to tell, and more pictures to include.  I like to elaborate on my reflections of the day, and explain why an ordinary day turned out to be an extraordinary day!!!

In this case, The Hubs and I took the boys to a new playground to play, while KB was dancing.  The sun was shinning, the boys were happy to have some alone time with us, and we had the park to ourselves!  Even a call from work, for The Hubs, on his day off, didn’t take away from the casual, relaxed feel of the day.  It was really fun exploring the playground and finding all the cool things to do.  I just had my cell phone, but I snapped away, taking pictures of the boys as they explored the park, and a lot of selfies (which is not normal for me).  Non of the photos were posed, or planned.  My goal was to capture real life.

After adding a couple of my favourite pictures to Project Life, I still had these four 4×6 photos, which included two 4×6 selfies, and 2 collages.  I decided to try something a little different (for me, at least) and made four 6×12 layouts. I’ll my Fuse tool, to create two 6×12 pockets out of a 12×12 page protector.  I used some old Studio Calico paper that I had out from a previous project (click here to check out that project!), vellum, tissue paper, and embellished with Stampin’ Up stickers and enamel dots, flair from Fancy Pants, die cuts from Simple Stories and Fancy Pants, and gold Heidi Swapp Color Shine.

Here is my process video and some close-ups!

Thanks so much for watching, and reading 🙂

Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

